Philharmonisches Streichquintett Berlin


  • Luiz Felipe Coelho, Violin

  • Romano Tommasini , Violin

  • Wolfgang Talirz , Viola

  • Tatjana Vassiljeva , Violoncello

  • Gunars Upatnieks , Double Bass

Russian master cellist Tatjana Vassiljeva is joined by four Philharmonic string-players. The Philharmonic String Quintet Berlin is distinctive in that the addition of the double bass allows it to act like a one-to-a-part string orchestra, while highlighting the soloist qualities of its members.
The ensemble crosses the boundaries between pure chamber music and symphonic sounds. At its many acclaimed concerts throughout Europe and Asia, the quintet plays original works as well as arrangements for string orchestras. The pieces gain tremendously in delicacy and liberty, without losing their richness of sound.

For the 2021-22 season they work in collaboration with the Spanish clarinetist Miguel Ángel Tamarit, interpreting the Mozart, clarinet quintet.

“Truly extraordinary (…) as full as a string orchestra, as delicate as a string trio.”